Disable the WordPress Multisite Activation Step

Disable the WordPress Multisite Activation Step

Matt Watson's photo
Matt Watson
·Oct 10, 2018·

1 min read

Subscribe to my newsletter and never miss my upcoming articles

So, you’ve created a WordPress Multisite installation, and you come to add your users. Simple right?

Wrong! Multisite introduces additional authentication steps, whereby a user needs to activate their account by clicking a link that has been sent to them. A handy step for things such as self registration, however sometimes it does get in the way.

You see, before people have registered on the site via their activation key, they do not show up in the ‘users’ area of WordPress! This means that when you are managing a lot of users, it can quickly become frustrating.

Removing the Activation Step in WordPress Multisite

Fortunately it is super simple to remove the activation step completely and have things behave like a regular old WordPress installation again. Simply just add the following code into your functions.php file:

function wholesomecode_remove_wpmu_activation( $user_login, $user_email, $key ) {
    wpmu_activate_signup( $key );
    return false;
}
add_filter( 'wpmu_signup_user_notification','wholesomecode_remove_wpmu_activation', 10, 3 );
 
Share this